RSS

Photo Post: Abandoned in Louisiana

05 Mar

Greetings all. You know those various projects I’ve ended up starting but not finishing? Yeah…

It turns out that I’m not really good at obligations, especially with my grandmother’s health continuing in a downward spiral from lung cancer to radiation-caused pneumonia-like illness and further. Who would have thought? So yeah, don’t expect me to post any particular thing any particular time, I’ll most likely do as I wish, and maybe this time I’ve learned my lesson on stating I will work on a particular thing for this blog. Still, I do have at least one thing planned out, but I shan’t set a date for it lest I fail to hit that date again.

Anyway, since it’s been so long since my last post, I figured I’d give you at least a little something. As such, here are some photos of aged structures, abandoned locations, and general roadside oddities from my state of Louisiana. Enjoy. Click on the images for a better full-view look.

A vine-etched wall in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

An old plantation-style home in Plaquemine, Louisiana

A rather offbeat house in Gonzales, Louisiana

A centerpiece statue at the Oakley Plantation in St. Francisville, Louisiana

A rusty leveeside corrugated iron shed in Donaldsonville, Louisiana

Vintage vehicles at the Oak Alley Plantation in Vacherie, Louisiana

An abandoned attempt at a water park near Lafayette, Louisiana

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Photo Post: Abandoned in Louisiana

  1. Gary Dauphin

    March 6, 2012 at 10:58 am

    Great photos and stories!

    Just to be clear, Oak Alley Plantation, nor its antique cars, are abandoned in any way!

    But, we agree, we are a unique attraction and your photos of our antique car garage in GREAT!

    My best to you!

     
    • Rappy Winters

      April 1, 2012 at 2:55 am

      True enough. The plantation images are stretching “abandoned” somewhat for the purposes of being able to show them. A better title might be “Abandoned and/or Aged in Louisiana”.

       
  2. Kacey

    January 16, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    Where exactly in lafayette is that watermark?

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

